Put the papaya down, Orlando!

The phrase above was part of one of the more humorous tweets generated by the upmarket supermarket, Waitrose’s attempt to get hip with the digerati by asking shoppers to complete the sentence, “I shop at Waitrose because…” in  a tweet with the hashtag #waitrosereasons. This campaign was launched on Monday 17th September and achieved plenty of publicity as several gems were seen on twitter including:

“I also shop at Waitrose because I was once in the Holloway Road branch and heard a dad say ‘Put the papaya down, Orlando!’

“I shop at Waitrose because I think food must automatically be better if it costs three times as much.”

“I shop at Waitrose because Clarrisa’s pony just WILL NOT eat ASDA Value straw”

“I shop at Waitrose because it makes me feel important and I absolutely detest being surrounded by poor people.”

Almost as funny is the sort of marketing guff that the campaign manager of their agency came out with:

Despite the backlash, Jason Woodford, chief executive at digital marketing agency SiteVisibility, said the campaign should not harm the brand image.

He said: “This was a very clever marketing ploy from Waitrose and it has reinforced its brand values of quality and reliably excellent service as a key point of differentiation from the other grocery chains.

“Their marketing team and management has managed to reflect a personality as well by recognising the humorous elements of both their campaign and some of the responses its encouraged.”

I look  forward with interest to the other major supermarket chains trying the same thing…

” I shop at Asdas ‘cos our Chantal-Nokia showed me up in Morrisons #asdareasons”

“I shop at Aldi and then take my bargains home in a Waitrose bag #aldireasons”

” Lidl is great , it reminds me of being back in Albania before the revolution #lidlreasons”

About Moorendman

A traveller through life who reads a great many of peoples works whilst self teaching himself.
This entry was posted in Comment, Food & Drink and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Put the papaya down, Orlando!

  1. bird7625 says:

    Erm, SiteVisibility isn’t Waitrose’s marketing agency. He was simply providing his point of view from a neutral perspective…?

Leave a Reply

