Michael Taylor Labour candidate for Hazel Grove

michaeltaylor2

Could you give me a one minute biography?

My Father was a milkman, my mother a nurse. I am originally from Lancaster. A product of the grammar school system I was the first person in my family to go to University. I am married with 5 sons living in Marple. My family is the front, back and centre of everything.

What do you think are the three most important issues for the country?

  1. Maintaining a stable economy which will allow business to thrive

  2. tackling climate change

  3. Stabilising and supporting our NHS

Who would most people regard as the Stockport’s greatest ever sportsman?

Most people would say Fred Perry but you could also name Jim Gannon, Keri-Anne Payne or James Hickman

Who would you vote for in this constituency if not yourself?

(MT Laughs) I am not prepared to answer that question,

What do you think are the most important issues for the people of Hazel Grove?

The same as the rest of the country, Hazel Grove is a fairly average constituency in terms of demographics. So the issues would be the NHS, providing education and and jobs for our children and helping Hazel Grove share in the renaissance of Greater Manchester as a powerful and thriving economic region. So that the people here could share in it’s future prosperity.

With which policy of your own party do you most disagree with and why?

I was asked this question before at my hustings. I would say that I believe my party does not go far enough on climate change and I would like to see a more rapid de-carbonisation of the economy. Also as a committed catholic, I would be inclined to vote against the party line on issues regarding the unborn and euthanasia if necessary.

What is your position on HS2?

I am in favour. Provided that the build is from the north downwards. I would like to see it as a connection between Manchester and London as two powerful centres and cities , not as a funnel dragging all the talent southwards.

Do you have a political hero or role model?

Of the current Labour thinkers, John Cruddas who is the architect of our manifesto , but looking overall it would be Aneurin Bevan, the Labour minister who created the NHS

Ed Miliband wanted to weaponise the NHS , perhaps he was confused between Health and Defence. Could you tell me how much the UK spends annually in those 2 areas?

I think that Defence is 2% of GDP and the NHS is about 10%. I dont know the actual figures.

What is Bullock Smithy or the Bullock Smithy?

I genuinely have no idea. My father used to keep bullocks too!

What will you do if you don’t get elected?

Carry on doing what I am doing, continuing to be a community champion for Marple and stay fully engaged with politics and the process.

( These questions were put to Michael Taylor in person and with no prior notice, his answers are reproduced faithfully here without comment )

About Moorendman

A traveller through life who reads a great many of peoples works whilst self teaching himself.
This entry was posted in Comment, General election 2015, Hazel Grove, Marple, Mellor, Politics, Stockport and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

